Ahlulbayt portal affiliated to Ahlulbayt(a.s) world assembly

The Ahlulbayt(a.s) portal`s websites of holy Quran, Nahj al-Balaghah, sahifah al-Sajadiah, supplications and ziyarat

Question text

In Surah 5 (Maedeh), Ayah 5 says: you are allowed to eat the foods that are provided by Ahl-Ketyab, which implies that their meat also is halal, and it does not need to be zabihag by a Muslim. What is your justification about this ayah?

Visits 248 categorization: Qur’an and the Rules

There are two opinions on this. One says that the food referred to in this verse doesn't include meat. The other opinion says that if Ahl-Ketab are practicing their own religion, then it is OK to eat their food (including meat) if we mention the name of God before eating it. Based on this opinion, Kosher would be permissible.

resources and references

Ref: www.islamichouseofwisdom.com

The opinions expressed in this text do not necessarily reflect those of the publisher



Comment text